COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of an Extraordinary Meeting of the County Council held in the Council Chamber - Shire Hall, Taunton, on Wednesday 29 November 2017 at 1.15 pm

Present: Cllr C Aparicio Paul, Cllr M Best, Cllr A Bown, Cllr A Broom, Cllr P Burridge-Clayton (Vice-Chair), Cllr M Caswell, Cllr M Chilcott, Cllr J Clarke, Cllr S Coles, Cllr A Dance, Cllr H Davies, Cllr M Dimery, Cllr B Filmer, Cllr D Fothergill, Cllr G Fraschini, Cllr A Govier, Cllr A Groskop, Cllr D Hall, Cllr P Ham, Cllr M Healey, Cllr N Hewitt-Cooper, Cllr James Hunt, Cllr John Hunt, Cllr D Huxtable, Cllr M Keating, Cllr A Kendall, Cllr C Lawrence, Cllr M Lewis, Cllr L Leyshon, Cllr J Lock, Cllr T Lock, Cllr D Loveridge, Cllr T Munt, Cllr T Napper, Cllr F Nicholson, Cllr G Noel, Cllr J Parham, Cllr H Prior-Sankey, Cllr M Pullin, Cllr F Purbrick, Cllr B Revans, Cllr M Rigby, Cllr N Taylor, Cllr G Verdon, Cllr L Vijeh, Cllr W Wallace (Chair), Cllr A Wedderkopp, Cllr J Williams, Cllr R Williams and Cllr J Woodman

39 Apologies for Absence - Agenda Item 1

Apologies for absence were received from: Cllr N Bloomfield, Cllr L Oliver, Cllr D Ruddle and Cllr J Thorne.

40 **Declarations of Interest** - Agenda Item 2

Members' written notifications of interests were affixed to the Notice Board at the back of the Council Chamber for the duration of the meeting

41 **Public Question Time** - Agenda Item 3

There were none.

42 Exclusion of the Press and Public - Agenda Item 5

(1) The Council RESOLVED unanimously to pass a resolution under Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 to exclude the press and public from the meeting, on the basis that if they were present during the business to be transacted there would be a likelihood of disclosure of exempt information, within the meaning of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972.

43 Requisitioned item - Appointment of Honorary Aldermen – Agenda Item 5

- (1) The Council considered a report from the Monitoring Officer regarding the appointment of Honorary Aldermen. The policy had been agreed by Council in July 2017.
- (2) The Monitoring Officer reminded members that the appointment were entirely honorary positions and brought no special rights but were intended to reflect the esteem of the wider community. Nominees must have served a minimum period of 12 years past service as a councillor of the County Council.

- (3) The recommendations were proposed by Cllr Fothergill and seconded by Cllr Jane Lock.
- (4) The Council RESOLVED by a majority vote to agree the four nominations of Ralph Clark, Dr Glyn Court, John Edney and Alan Gloak for the appointment of Honorary Aldermen.

(The meeting ended at 1.27 pm)

CHAIRMAN